NO GREATER LOVE by David Tielbar, Final Year M.Div

When I think of my time in the service John 15:13 always comes to my mind No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” there is bond that is created between Soldiers when they are placed in a situation where humanity is at the peak of its brokenness, and that is war.

I have had the honor of serving with a very mixed company of people who come from different backgrounds, colors, and religions; the list could go on. Differences have caused divisions in our nation and in our world, yet there was something different about this diversity, something special, something I will forever hold close to my heart.

When the rockets, mortars and bullets come in, it is no longer about flag and country; it is no longer the color of your skin, or where you came from. It is about your buddy on the right and on your left. Some of the most profound moments of faith, some of the deepest theological thoughts I have had in my life have occurred when people were willing to risk their own lives for me and I for them. It’s a bond that is hard to find when you are out of uniform.

It is that bond that I miss the most even after being out of the service for almost 4 years. It is that bond that has brought back many memories for me as I was writing this. These are memories that I will cherish forever and some that I wish I could bury and never come back to again. Yet they are a part of who I am and in many ways have affirmed what I am called to do today as a pastoral ministry candidate.

 

Leave a Reply

